Amy Says Read This

Seriously, you should totally read this.

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Leave a comment

Image from Goodreads.com

Image from Goodreads.com

Driza, Debra. (2013). Mila 2.0. New York: Katherine Tegen Books. ISBN:

Annotation: Mila’s the new girl in a tiny farm town, and she’s just trying to survive high school and recover from the death of her father. Then her mom reveals a secret that changes her whole world.

Reaction: I think Mila is a great character. She embodies all the struggles of being a teenage girl, include an attempt to balance friendships versus boys and the love/hate feelings all teens experience towards their parents. I think she’s a super compelling character, and I enjoyed watching her hold onto her humanity in the midst of many challenges. She’s pretty complex, and I am interested in her continuing struggle to find a balance between her human self and her android self. She’s totally the best thing about this book.

I was super excited to read this, and I was a little disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a pretty good book about a teenage robot, but I just felt that it was a little long with a little too much action and not quite enough plot for my tastes. Ultimately, I liked the book, but I’m not sure I like it enough to read the sequel. Driza does a lot of good things in this book, but I just felt like it dragged on a bit too long, and it’s 470 pages is significantly longer than many other YA novels. I also felt like her romantic interest, while establishing her human girl cred, was a little shoehorned into the story. Honestly, (small spoiler?) I kept expecting him to be somehow in league with her would-be captors.

I would totally recommend this book for people who are looking for some light science fiction, people who like stories about a robot with a heart of gold, and people who like sci-fi/fantasy featuring strong heroines.

Author’s Website

Leave a Reply

