Amy Says Read This

Seriously, you should totally read this.

I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen

1 Comment

Image from Goodreads.com

Image from Goodreads.com

Klassen, J. (2011). I want my hat back. Somerville, Ma: Candlewick Press. ISBN: 9780763655983

Annotation: A bear is on a quest to find his beloved missing hat.

Reaction: I LOVE this book. I saw it read during a preschool storytime I was observing, and it is so funny. The story is simple enough, the art is delightful, and the humor is subtle. When I read it at my own storytime this past week, the kids “helped” Bear on his search for his hat, and though they may not have gotten the joke about what happens to the hat thief at the end of the story, they did enjoy the book. When I first saw it read and when my husband read it, we laughed out loud at the illustrations and the simple story. Klassen is a delightful storyteller, and his seemingly simply illustrations convey a lot.

Klassen also just published a companion story called This Is Not My Hat about a fishy hat thief, which just won the Caldecott Medal for illustration. That one is also great, but my preschoolers DEFINITELY didn’t get the joke.

This is on my Top Ten Favorites (and my Amazon wishlist).

New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books (2011)
Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor (2012)
Selezionato Mostra Internazionale d’illustrazione per l’infanzia di Sarmede (2011)

Media Used: Illustrations created digitally and in Chinese ink

Author’s Website

One thought on “I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen

  1. Pingback: The Dark by Lemony Snicket | The Library School Chronicles

Leave a Reply

