Amy Says Read This

Seriously, you should totally read this.

Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan

Leave a comment

Image from Goodreads.com

Brennan, S. R. (2012). Unspoken. New York: Random House. ISBN: 9780375870415

Annotation: When someone starts ritualistically killing animals in the woods, it’s up to Kami to figure out what’s going on and whether or not it has anything to do with the return of the mysterious Lynburn family.

Reaction: Gosh, I love Sarah Rees Brennan (SRB). She is a delight. I love that she writes strong heroines who are perfectly capable of rescuing themselves, thankyouverymuch. I love that she includes minority characters, including the quarter Japanese heroine in this novel and several gay characters in everything of hers I’ve read.

If I were going to criticize her, I would say that perhaps her dialogue is a bit too snappy and clever to be read as Real. However, coming from the generation raised on Gilmore Girls, Veronica Mars and anything Joss Whedon, I love snappy, somewhat unrealistic dialogue. Her characters say everything we wish we were clever enough to come up with in our own lives, and in addition to being clever, she’s funny, and her one liners make her books immensely enjoyable.

I will admit that it took me a bit to get into this novel. I was so anxious to figure out the mystery behind the Lynburns that I wanted to rush through all the build up and exposition. Which is not to say that the beginning of the book was boring, but she makes the mystery so EXCITING and MYSTERIOUS that I want to know more about that and less about someone killing a fox in the woods. Though, really, it’s all interconnected.

One of the things that I really love about SRB, besides her snappy dialogue, is that she is not predictable. I might have known a couple of minor things before they happened, but the Big Bad was a total surprise to me at the end. I knew it would be someone I least suspected, but I didn’t really realize how true that was.

This is a book for lovers of urban-ish fantasy, who want kickass heroines and great stories. Despite the somewhat sinister plot and OMG, SRB JUST RIPPED MY HEART OUT-ness (as a friend put it) of the end, this story is pretty light hearted and delightful all most of the way through.

But honestly, y’all should read Sarah Rees Brennan. She’s wonderful, and I love her so very very much.

Author’s Website

Leave a Reply

